Beauty is Pain

Once upon a time there was a lady who really needed some hair dressing TLC. After a very long time of colouring her own hair with supermarket hair dye, she decided she needed a birthday treat. She made an appointment with her favourite hairstylist. (It should be noted that this hair stylist was very popular and it usually took at least a week or two to get an appointment) But luck was with our heroine and she managed to get an appointment that very afternoon!!

After arriving at the salon she was whisked into a comfortable chair ready for the magic to begin.

It was decided our heroine needed a major overhaul, the black hair had to go and was going to be bleached out and a lighter colour and highlights to be added. (sounds good to me!).

So after the product was applied and her head covered in tin foil, our heroine sat back to enjoy a drink and read her kindle………..ah bliss…………….after a while our heroine’s head started to feel slightly warm………….then her scalp started tingling…………………then it started feeling very very warm and a burning sensation was strongly felt.

Now our heroine didn’t like to complain but she was starting to think something untoward was occurring, and she could be heard exclaiming “Um should this be burning”. “No” replied another of the lovely stylists who kindly came over and lifted off her tin foil turban and straightened out her hair. It has to be said shock was felt by all when smoke was seen to be rising off our heroines hair (herΒ stylist later informed her it was steam, she still feels skeptical on this point πŸ™‚

With two pairs of shocked eyes turned to my stylist it was exclaimed “her hair is smoking!!”. Our heroine and second stylist froze there for a second in a horrified stupor until her stylist declared “well bring her to the basin!!”. Thus awakened from their shocked trance the pair hustled to the basin and to joyously cool water, and rinsed the pain away……..ahhhhhhh. (there really wasn’t much pain but that sounded more interesting πŸ™‚

Unfortunately for our heroine the bleach had reacted with the home dye and had a chemical reaction……….

Now being the wonderfully happy go lucky person she is, had a good laugh about the whole thing, after all it was her own fault for spending all her money on art supplies and neglecting her hair care!!

Once her poor hairstylist got over the shock, all was well (although the heroine will be lucky if they ever let her back into the salon!!).

But never fear dear readers our story has a happy ending and our heroine now has a healthy head of beautifully coloured hair.

My latest painting is dedicated to the stylist in this utterly random made up story “wink, wink” πŸ˜‰

Beauty is Pain

About kellygrahamartist

kellygrahamartist.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Beauty is Pain

  1. violetski says:

    Lovely story Kelly although her hair shocked her but she is still beautiful by your colours❀
    Love the colours , background tooπŸ˜ƒβ€

  2. wow, being a hairdresser myself I didnt know whether to laugh or cry at your story! lol!!
    Thankfully for both of you, it turned out ok. YAY!!

    Loving your pic too btw!!! xx

  3. Wow, how’s your head feeling now? Love the story and the painting.

  4. texasdaisey says:

    Awwwww come on now that just has to be true!!! Oh my!!! Belly laughing out loud! I know it wasn’t very funny at the time but so funny after the fact. I am so glad that it ended well though. LOL. Great story and painting to go with it too (double delight!)
    Debbie

    • Thanks Debbie lol, you caught me out haha. I actually haven’t had that much success with past hair salons, many of them have tried and sadly succeeded in giving me mullets and elvis hair, so I have to say this was one of the better appointments!! lol πŸ™‚

  5. That was a delight to read. Loved it. And this coming from a hairdressersfobid that is saying something. Love the painting too πŸ™‚

    greetings from Amsterdam,
    RenΓ©e
    http://www.howlingdogartstudio.blogspot.com

  6. You had me giggling out loud. What a great story- with a happy ending! And the artwork is equally adorable!
    Thanks!

    • Thanks Christina, It was pretty funny although I was freaked at first thinking it was was going to be all fried and frizzled hehe, and I know I freaked my hairdresser!! πŸ™‚ I just wonder what my next appointment will bring πŸ˜‰

  7. myblueisblue says:

    I love it, the story and the art!

  8. justlyd says:

    Oh no, I’m very happy that everything worked out good for you in the end! I mean your heroine πŸ™‚ love your fire-headed girl and her expression πŸ™‚

  9. OUCH! I too am a Hair colorist and although this has never happened to me, It is every colorists nightmare!! I wonder if you had metallic salts in your hair (henna)? Was it just your scalp burning or did you have damage to your hair-shaft? I am glad u are recovered and creating again!!! Check out Davines-A New Coluour (ammonia free, it what I use in my salon!! Your stylist might have used a artificial pigment remover instead of bleach, its less stress full to hair and scalp…..we live and we learn!! OH I am BFF … Beautiful Fellow Flyer too!! Kelly Rae’s class!

    • Hi Andrea, Thanks so much for your comment πŸ™‚ I don’t think I had any Henna in my hair I have always steered clear of it as I heard you can’t use conventional hair dyes over top.
      It was definitely more to my hair than my scalp, but I seem to have escaped relatively unharmed πŸ™‚
      It’s wonderful to talk to a Fellow Flyer.

  10. nonoymanga says:

    Electrifying both art and story!!! Cheers Nonoy Manga

  11. Winter Owls says:

    You poor poor thing! This happened to me as a teenager when I had a perm once- lots of my hair actually broke off and I could feel spikes all over my head! Year later when I had chemo and even my eyelashes fell out I wondered what I was worrying about! Slather your hair with lots of conditioner. I’m so glad your story had a happy ending. πŸ™‚

    • Haha I had that happen to me when I was a teenager as well Jen, had a perm and could feel the spikes all over!!
      I went and bought myself a lovely new conditioner for my latest drama and it works a treat!
      I’m sorry to hear you had to go through chemo and hope everything is well with you xx

  12. michaelbanak says:

    Hahahaha show us a real photo Kelly.great sketch m

  13. Kelly, very cute story and painting. My daughter just had a similar experience and went from blonde to ash gray…with highlights. I think we have all (especially women) gone through this at some time or another…(-:

  14. Yeah, just part of the fun I guess lol πŸ™‚

  15. Kelly, this is a very amusing story and painting. The hairstylists won’t forget you after that eventful session.

  16. gonerustic says:

    I know it’s a while since this happened, but I was aghast when I read it! What a close shave that was (hee hee) … I’m glad the story had a happy ending … =D

  17. Subhan Zein says:

    Hi Kelly Graham,
    A thought-provoking post you have here. Well writteen too. πŸ™‚ This story reminds me of my latest post, on a very similar topic. You may be interested: http://subhanzein.wordpress.com/2012/12/02/one-night-in-st-james-park/

    Take care! πŸ™‚
    Subhan Zein

Leave a Reply

